Edition 2023

Guests of Honour 2023

© Alexandra Fleurantin


Bérénice Bejo first gained public recognition by starring in Gérard Jugnot’s Most Promising Young Actress in 2000. She then received the Best Actress award at the 2013 Cannes Film Festival for her role in Asghar Farhadi’s The Past and the César for Best Actress for her role in The Artist by Michel Hazanavicius, for which she was also nominated for an Oscar.

She has worked both in France and abroad, collaborating with directors such as Joachim Lafosse, Marco Bellocchio, Tran-Anh Hung, Pablo Trapero, Sergio Castellitto, Tom Shoval, and so on. In 2016, she made her stage debut in the play Tout ce que vous voulez, directed by Bernard Murat. She also danced alongside Sylvain Groud in Trois Sacres. She most recently appeared in Camille Japy’s Sous le Tapis and in The Hummingbird by Francesca Archibugi. She will soon be seen in the Netflix film Shark by Xavier Gens.

© Sina Östlund

After studying at the University of Gothenburg, Ruben Östlund directed his first feature film THE GUITAR MONGOLOID in 2005, winning the FIPRESCI prize at the Moscow Film Festival. 

All his subsequent films premiered at the Cannes Film Festival, starting with INVOLUNTARY (2008), selected for Un Certain Regard.  

He then won the Golden Bear at the Berlinale for his short INCIDENT BY A BANK (2010), which gave him the opportunity to experiment with techniques and style. This experimentation takes shape in PLAY (2011), presented at the Directors' Fortnight and for which he won the Nordic Film Prize (Scandinavia's most prestigious award). 

His fourth feature, SNOW THERAPY (2014), was presented at Un Certain Regard and won the Jury Prize. It was also nominated for a Golden Globe and shortlisted for an Oscar. 

Ruben Östlund returned to Cannes in Competition with THE SQUARE (2017), for which he won the Palme d'Or before being nominated for a Golden Globe and an Oscar. His latest feature, TRIANGLE OF SADNESS, was selected in Competition at the Cannes Film Festival. On this occasion, he won his second Palme d’or and received three Academy Awards nominations: best film, best director and best original screenplay.  

Powered by FestiCiné